/* Rate It icons */ /* Emojis */

Summary

21 - 23 Nov 2019

Visy Theatre Brisbane Powerhouse, New Farm

Continuing on from Adelaide Fringe 2019, Isaac Lomman is bringing his extremely popular show HYPNOSIS [Live].

Say goodbye to clichés of spilling secrets on stage, chicken dancing and people waking up naked.

This show focuses on the power of the subjects’ minds and does away with those old stereotypes of hypnotism you see in Hollywood.

A family friendly show for those aged 8-80+ and from all walks of life, Isaac’s show is clean fun for all to enjoy.

Recommended for ages 8+

BOOK TICKETS

Reviews

21 Nov 2019

Isaac Lomman indulges in some good old-fashioned mind control

It’s difficult to say what one should expect going into Hypnosis [Live], so tantalising are the possibilities promised by its premise.

The idea of a theatre performance in which audience members are lulled into a trancelike state sounds less like the stuff of a modern theatre festival, and more like the occultist salons popular in the Belle Epoque.

Yet despite his laid-back showmanship, performer Isaac Lomman clearly takes his craft seriously, even as his subjects find themselves in increasingly bizarre predicaments—including, but…

It’s difficult to say what one should expect going into Hypnosis [Live], so tantalising are the possibilities promised by its premise.

The idea of a theatre performance in which audience members are lulled into a trancelike state sounds less like the stuff of a modern theatre festival, and more like the occultist salons popular in the Belle Epoque.

Yet despite his laid-back showmanship, performer Isaac Lomman clearly takes his craft seriously, even as his subjects find themselves in increasingly bizarre predicaments—including, but not limited to, skulking through the audience as if they’re a spy and answering their shoe as if it is a telephone.

There’s great fun to be had in puzzling over the participants’ suggestibility, which varies considerably between the volunteers, with some seeming to succumb completely and others remaining largely unaffected.

Lomman’s show rarely delves into the mechanics of what is happening, and though his secrecy entertains in the tradition of vaudeville magicians, it makes for a relatively conventional take on an intriguing topic.

With the science of hypnosis playing a supporting role to its capacity for amusement the audience is required to suspend its disbelief, and in the case of this reviewer, left wanting more than the performance offers.

That being said, it’s not often you get to watch a room full of people be literally hypnotised, which alone makes Hypnosis [Live] worth the price of a ticket.

Read more
Alex Komarowski
virgin
21 Nov 2019

A great finish to an entertaining show

It was a tough crowd.

There were so many eager members in the audience to go up on stage and be part of the hypnosis fun, that people who weren't really susceptible to group hypnosis went up.

So it took a while to weed out the eager beavers and get a group that were able to perform. Which happened.

The main man, Isaac Lomman, was a good entertainer, keeping the audience engaged while he sought out the right people to work with.

After some…

It was a tough crowd.

There were so many eager members in the audience to go up on stage and be part of the hypnosis fun, that people who weren't really susceptible to group hypnosis went up.

So it took a while to weed out the eager beavers and get a group that were able to perform. Which happened.

The main man, Isaac Lomman, was a good entertainer, keeping the audience engaged while he sought out the right people to work with.

After some filtering, he found just the right people and it was good clean fun.

We all laughed and saw just what hypnosis can do.

All around a great show worth seeing, especially for the money.

I recommend it to anyone.

Read more
Dave Thomas
veteran
21 Nov 2019

Such a funny show that will keep you on the edge of your seat long after the show is over!

Last night I saw the show Hypnosis, and I’ll admit that I was a bit sceptical going into the show, however, I can honestly say I was surprisingly very entertained and delighted by what I saw.

The whole experience of the show was so interactive and filled with laughter that I would highly recommend this show for anyone looking for anything a little bit different, especially if you’re brave enough to get up on stage and try it out!

It was a…

Last night I saw the show Hypnosis, and I’ll admit that I was a bit sceptical going into the show, however, I can honestly say I was surprisingly very entertained and delighted by what I saw.

The whole experience of the show was so interactive and filled with laughter that I would highly recommend this show for anyone looking for anything a little bit different, especially if you’re brave enough to get up on stage and try it out!

It was a very funny show which left the audience not only laughing while they walked out of the show but also on the edge of their seats throughout the show while trying to figure out how the magic happened!

I can’t remember the last time I laughed so much during a show - great pick!

The hypnotist was very entertaining and, for a solo act, managed to keep the entire audience engaged throughout the entire set, which was a huge effort on his behalf.

A really fun night!

Read more
Rachel Layt
virgin
21 Nov 2019

Hypnosis, Australian-style

Hypnosis Live is hypnosis minus the Vegas flash - still polished but authentic with a behind-the-scenes peek into how it all works.

Maybe it's hypnosis Australian style. Isaac Lomman is a showman with the heart of an educator.

It's a combination that works well in Hypnosis Live.

This show has plenty of laughs and good-natured fun, and everybody is treated with respect.

Isaac was excellent at giving us a little understanding into how the process works to make everyone more comfortable before gathering his…

Hypnosis Live is hypnosis minus the Vegas flash - still polished but authentic with a behind-the-scenes peek into how it all works.

Maybe it's hypnosis Australian style. Isaac Lomman is a showman with the heart of an educator.

It's a combination that works well in Hypnosis Live.

This show has plenty of laughs and good-natured fun, and everybody is treated with respect.

Isaac was excellent at giving us a little understanding into how the process works to make everyone more comfortable before gathering his volunteers (there were some noticeably nervous audience members when we arrived).

A couple of times the whole audience tried an exercise and if nothing else it was incredibly relaxing.

Some of the antics on stage worked and some didn't, but for us that made it all seem more real.

Isaac had one member of the audience acting as a super-spy, another answering a show phone and one completely besotted with her neighbour.

This show was good, clean, family-friendly fun.

We had some laughs, learned a little and were all a little bit hypnotised by Isaac's skill.

Try it - it's mesmerising!

Read more
Kirsty Stein
virgin
21 Nov 2019

For some reason it did not come together

Whilst HYPNOSIS [LIVE] seemed to have all the correct elements to manufacture a great night out, for some reason it did not come together.

Perhaps the crowd was not the best, perhaps it was the volunteers volunteering not allowing Isaac Lomman control over their minds, perhaps I’m just a sceptic.

Jeremy Hansen
veteran
21 Nov 2019

Excuse the cliche but you’ve got to see it to believe it!

Twelve hours later and I am still perplexed by the hypnotic shenanigans that we witnessed during last night's performance.

Entering the venue feeling sceptical would be a wild understatement, but we were well and truly prepared to be awed and floored if these tricks of the mind wound up being true!

In spite of the intimate audience, our fast-talking, slick-looking, well-versed hypnotist for the evening, Isaac Lomman, was just as enthusiastic and engaging as if he were presenting to hundreds!

After some introductory…

Twelve hours later and I am still perplexed by the hypnotic shenanigans that we witnessed during last night's performance.

Entering the venue feeling sceptical would be a wild understatement, but we were well and truly prepared to be awed and floored if these tricks of the mind wound up being true!

In spite of the intimate audience, our fast-talking, slick-looking, well-versed hypnotist for the evening, Isaac Lomman, was just as enthusiastic and engaging as if he were presenting to hundreds!

After some introductory audience participation antics (I won’t give anything too much away), more than a handful of brave souls volunteered to join Isaac on stage to put their mental state to the test.

Once in trance mode, us significantly less-daring viewers were treated to all sorts of humorous delights (again, no spoilers) as the participants were snapped in and out of their hypnotised sleep states, having no such awareness of what they’d done, why they did it, or even in one instance... who they were.

With much ‘surely not!,’ ‘wow!,’ and ‘what the ....’ internal dialogue on our side, we left Isaac’s presence no doubt a little less sceptical and I hate to say it...quite possibly converts.

Would most definitely consider coming back next time to see some more!

And with that, I’ll leave you with one hint word... kangaroos!

Read more
Jessie Newman
virgin
21 Nov 2019

Hilarious, entertaining and awesome

I didn’t know what to expect walking into a show about Hypnosis but I laughed so hard I cried, genuinely.

The volunteering process was thoughtful and no-one was forced to get up if they didn’t want to which made everything feel warm and welcoming.

The act was kept fresh and funny at every turn and honestly, I fell apart laughing at the end.

I would have gone again the next night if I could have.

Caitlin Boucher
virgin
21 Nov 2019

Your imagination is a funny thing!

Isaac Lomman filled the stage with a group of willing volunteers from the audience and with his mesmerising voice and a click of his fingers he tried to take them into a state of deep hypnosis.

To do this takes time and surprisingly not everyone is able to fall under his spell so at this point I found the performance got a little repetitive and my concentration wandered slightly.

Isaac then explained the different levels of hypnosis and took all the audience…

Isaac Lomman filled the stage with a group of willing volunteers from the audience and with his mesmerising voice and a click of his fingers he tried to take them into a state of deep hypnosis.

To do this takes time and surprisingly not everyone is able to fall under his spell so at this point I found the performance got a little repetitive and my concentration wandered slightly.

Isaac then explained the different levels of hypnosis and took all the audience through a couple of exercises to show us how it worked and the power that your mind holds.

Once he swapped out a couple of the participants who weren't responding to the hypnosis and was happy with his team of volunteers the show began.

Each participant was queued to a word or music to perform in a certain way which proved the makings of a very funny show.

This, of course, would differ and be unique to each show as it is the participant's mind and how they interpret the instruction as to what will happen.

We had a funny bunch who acted out being very attracted to each other, Irish dancing and James Bond, to thinking that everyone was naked etc.

It was an hour of silly fun and who doesn't love that?

an you be hypnotized? Go find out.

Read more
Brenda Owen
veteran
21 Nov 2019

An incredibly well-spoken, talented (and good-looking) hypnotist with audience participation

The Powerhouse was a great venue as we were able to catch the CityCat from Hawthorne and avoid rush hour traffic to get to the 6pm show.

Visy Theatre was the perfect place to hold this session, as seating is all around the stage making it easy to get up close to all the action.

I was impressed by ISAAC LOMMAN's confidence and command of the stage.

He is certainly a master of his genre and created a hilarious show through the showcasing…

The Powerhouse was a great venue as we were able to catch the CityCat from Hawthorne and avoid rush hour traffic to get to the 6pm show.

Visy Theatre was the perfect place to hold this session, as seating is all around the stage making it easy to get up close to all the action.

I was impressed by ISAAC LOMMAN's confidence and command of the stage.

He is certainly a master of his genre and created a hilarious show through the showcasing of hypnotic games and audience participation.

In fact, selected volunteers became the stars of the show.

I had a good belly laugh and was entertained by people acting out various scenarios - but I won’t give away any spoilers!

My 11-year-old son came with me and it was nice to attend an event that was family-friendly and contained no vulgarity.

He also enjoyed himself and was in awe of Isaac's ability to control his subjects' minds.

My only negative was that the show was not well attended (half-full) as I think more people would have given a greater atmosphere.

So do yourself a favour and hop on down to Hypnosis [Live] and be part of the action!

Read more
Christie Campbell
virgin
quis, elit. sit libero. amet, non odio ipsum