/* Rate It icons */ /* Emojis */

Reviews

28 Nov 2019

Engaging despite the tech problems

Starting with one of the "most difficult card tricks in the world" was a good move. I was focused and captivated and that feeling continued throughout. A couple of tricks didn't work but I wasn't bothered. There wasn't a lot in this show but Matt is very likeable...

Starting with one of the “most difficult card tricks in the world” was a good move.

I was focused and captivated and that feeling continued throughout.

A couple of tricks didn’t work but I wasn’t bothered.

There wasn’t a lot in this show but Matt is very likeable and he handled a major tech problem at the end extremely well.

It was a disappointing finish and I can imagine how unimpressed Matt was.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

Captivating old school magic

Matt Tarrant's show was a rollercoaster ride of happiness, sadness, excitement and fear - a recipe for a great magic show. He performed a couple of mind-boggling tricks that left me wondering, just how does he do it!!!!! And can he predict the lotto numbers for me?! It...

Matt Tarrant’s show was a rollercoaster ride of happiness, sadness, excitement and fear – a recipe for a great magic show.

He performed a couple of mind-boggling tricks that left me wondering, just how does he do it!!!!!

And can he predict the lotto numbers for me?!

It was a little disjointed at times.

Which probably had more to do with the show experiencing some technical difficulties on the night.

Matt recovered well and I liked his witty ad-lib filler moments, where we got to learn a little about the man behind the magic.

It was an intimate venue with lots of (necessary) audience participation.

Just a little language warning for sensitive (young) ears – considering it’s rated all ages.

No razzmatazz or glitz just captivating old school magic, street magic taken to the next level.

A welcome change of pace!

Read more

28 Nov 2019

Fun and light hearted evening of magic with a little bit of mind reading thrown in for good measure

Watching Matt Tarrant’s Unsolved at Visy Theatre was a fun and light-hearted evening of magic with a little bit of mind-reading thrown in for good measure that wasn’t always successful (we can blame that on Bruce the Goose) but you were always left with some doubt about whether...

Watching Matt Tarrant’s Unsolved at Visy Theatre was a fun and light-hearted evening of magic with a little bit of mind-reading thrown in for good measure that wasn’t always successful (we can blame that on Bruce the Goose) but you were always left with some doubt about whether the misfire was intentional or not…

It was fun either way.

The cozy theatre (set in a semi-circle which made everyone feel close to the action) was centrally located at the Powerhouse and suited the intimate style of the show that has a lot of audience participation.

The “cat bus” thrown into the audience to select the unsuspecting audience member was not always well received by some reluctant participants but a fun way of involving everyone.

I had my son with me who also enjoyed the evening with some unsolved magic mysteries still left intact when the evening was up.

The show does have appeal for the whole family with one reservation though, the number of F-bombs launched during the show could have been left out for the little ears in the audience.

Our highlight was the card trick played to a lot of different music clips with different themes that coincided with the cards being dealt, a must-see.

Matt has a great stage presence with an easy manner about him that is engaging and likeable, willing him on to succeed with all of his magic tricks.

We even had one participant asking whether she should change her selection so that his trick would work, all good banter that contributed to the enjoyment of the show.

Matt was also a previous Australian Survivor participant so for all those fans out there, also an opportunity to see Matt in person.

Definitely go and see the show for some light-hearted entertainment and magic.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

An entertaining hour with a bloke you'd probably have a drink with

Matt seems a really genuine bloke and nowhere near as alpha as you would assume a guy who chose magic and mind-reading would be. His stories come from a real place and, despite the showmanship inherent to stage performance, you find yourself liking him. He’s quick to call...

Matt seems a really genuine bloke and nowhere near as alpha as you would assume a guy who chose magic and mind-reading would be.

His stories come from a real place and, despite the showmanship inherent to stage performance, you find yourself liking him.

He’s quick to call out the elephants about performing magic and interacting with a crowd.

He’s also really great at putting the audience at ease, which is awesome because there are a lot of moments that are almost-but-not awkward.

For those who fear audience participation, it’s not that bad!

As someone who hates that risk, I insisted we sat anywhere but the front.

So if you’re like me, let me reassure you: there is audience participation but he doesn’t “pick on” people and the selection process feels organic.

There are also outs if you really can’t stand that kind of thing.

Unfortunately, during the show I attended, there were AV issues.

This meant we didn’t get to see the grand finale.

Matt, to his credit, hid his disappointment so well that many of the audience thought it was part of the show until the underwhelming exit.

It appeared to be one of those things that was outside of anyone’s control so I’m devo-ed for Matt that this happened.

It’s worth noting because openings and closings of shows can really affect the whole thing and I have no idea how different my take would have been if I’d seen it.

For most adults, the concept of true magic kind of died around the time we discovered the myth of Santa Claus, but this is about so much more than that.

Hang out with Matt for an hour and I guarantee you’ll like him, laugh, and probably walking away wondering how he did a few things.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

A raw, honest insight into the not-always-perfect world of live theatre

Magical tricks aside - Matt is a true entertainer. In his own words, he got 80% of his tricks right which is what’s so appealing about him. The show is a raw, honest insight into the not always perfect worlds of live theatre and I couldn’t have enjoyed...

Magical tricks aside – Matt is a true entertainer.

In his own words, he got 80% of his tricks right which is what’s so appealing about him.

The show is a raw, honest insight into the not always perfect worlds of live theatre and I couldn’t have enjoyed it more.

Battling technical glitches throughout the show, we still experienced some mind-bending acts that I cannot put reason to.

He is so highly personable you get lost in his banter equally as much as his next act.

He is a master of audience participation and won over some slightly unwilling participants.

Might be something to do with him being an Aussie – but he is a lovable guy, honest and gave it his all.

I’d happily recommend seeing him and would do so again.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

A cool combination of laughs and phenomenal tricks

Matt wowed his audience with a cool combination of laughs and phenomenal tricks. It’s no wonder his act is a sell-out. People raved as they left the theatre. “How the hell did he do that?” is either excitedly gushed post-show or thought about for hours while lying in...

Matt wowed his audience with a cool combination of laughs and phenomenal tricks.

It’s no wonder his act is a sell-out.

People raved as they left the theatre.

“How the hell did he do that?” is either excitedly gushed post-show or thought about for hours while lying in bed.

The card tricks, mentalism and hilarious audience participation had us hooked.

Unsolved is much more family-friendly than expected and couples on date night might be disappointed – unless of course, you are a big kid at heart!

Read more

28 Nov 2019

Everything that could have gone wrong, did. But it was absolutely hysterical.

Matt Tarrant's return to Brisbane comes off the back of sold-out shows around the world, and as we sat down and the show began, it became evident that it was Matt's charm, humour and overall likeability that was the star of the show. The tricks attempted - which...

Matt Tarrant’s return to Brisbane comes off the back of sold-out shows around the world, and as we sat down and the show began, it became evident that it was Matt’s charm, humour and overall likeability that was the star of the show.

The tricks attempted – which would have been spectacularly mind-blowing if executed to plan – almost all failed.

This didn’t matter, as Matt had us laughing the whole way through.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

Family friendly, personable and the consummate professional

To be fair to the very talented and funny Matt Tarrant, speaking to him afterwards, this performance was dubbed 'The Show Where Everything Went Wrong'. A hazard of performing, especially a magic show, is that sometimes things go wrong thanks to unpredictable audience participation, technical hitches etc. To...

To be fair to the very talented and funny Matt Tarrant, speaking to him afterwards, this performance was dubbed ‘The Show Where Everything Went Wrong’.

A hazard of performing, especially a magic show, is that sometimes things go wrong thanks to unpredictable audience participation, technical hitches etc.

To Matt’s credit, he handled it all expertly.

He is so likeable and brilliant in a decidedly non-flashy way that the show was still enjoyable despite the hiccups.

I made the decision to go back again a couple of nights later to see the show again and I’m glad I did.

The show was pitch-perfect this time, every trick dazzled (I especially loved the big card trick at the beginning with the song lyrics – so clever) and I have absolutely no clue how the finale worked – which was the whole point.

Definitely worth seeing – twice.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

The Show Must Go On...

Matt Tarrant has a witty and welcoming on-stage persona and with his warm smile and friendly personality, Matt is a natural entertainer. His relaxed, laid-back banter means he quickly connects with the audience. In fact, his routine is about as casual as his torn jeans and his blasé...

Matt Tarrant has a witty and welcoming on-stage persona and with his warm smile and friendly personality, Matt is a natural entertainer.

His relaxed, laid-back banter means he quickly connects with the audience.

In fact, his routine is about as casual as his torn jeans and his blasé attitude toward his performance is what makes him so likeable.

He is generous with his stories of previous failures and happily plays it up to lower the expectations of the audience, which in this case came in handy at times after a few technical hitches.

Matt glazed over these problems with his great sense of humour and it almost made the show funnier, although I would have loved to see his closing clip as I think his failures may have been proven not to be during that.

We were highly amused by Bruce the goose, Matt’s mind-reading sidekick, albeit a bit of a flop at the end and we were really impressed with the hardest card trick in the world.

This was a great starter.

The tricks presented in this show range from mind-blowing, inexplicable predictions like the lotto numbers, to various sleight-of-hand tricks which are impossible to explain.

Matt had a unique way of selecting people to help with his magic tricks via audience members being randomly thrown a catbus, which reluctantly had people come up on stage, but made us think there was no way they were a plant for his show.

Overall, the performance was fantastic.

We walked out shaking our heads in wonder and feeling that the title Unsolved was very appropriate.

Let’s face it, everyone loves a good old fashioned magic show, and while you know you’re being fooled it doesn’t stop you from wondering, ‘how on earth did he do that?’

Read more

28 Nov 2019

Superbly imaginative wondrous fun

It’s difficult to say what one should expect from a magic performance. If you’re thinking rabbit out of a hat then you’ve got the wrong show. Without giving it away, this show goes one better in the animal stakes. Internationally acclaimed Matt Tarrant and his show “Unsolved” is...

It’s difficult to say what one should expect from a magic performance.

If you’re thinking rabbit out of a hat then you’ve got the wrong show.

Without giving it away, this show goes one better in the animal stakes.

Internationally acclaimed Matt Tarrant and his show “Unsolved” is superbly imaginative, fast-paced and funny, and is suitable for all age groups.

It is no surprise that Matt Tarrant is one of the highest-selling solo acts in the history of the Adelaide Fringe and picked up the Adelaide Fringe award earlier this year.

Unsolved is filled with amazing tricks, some involving audience participation, most that will leave you filled with wonder and amazement as to what you’ve actually witnessed.

On the other end of the scale at times he had the audience perched on the edge of their seats in sheer horror.

Unfortunately, not everything went accordingly to plan with a couple of technical difficulties during the performance but Matt Tarrant being a true showman didn’t miss a beat and used humour to round out what was a fabulous evening’s entertainment.

Run don’t walk peeps – this is a goodie and not to be missed.

Read more

28 Nov 2019

Enter the world of magic and be enthralled

Matt's show was entertaining. Lots of audience participation which made for a laugh. On the night there were a few 'mishaps' unfortunately for him. One audience member, during a memory trick, decided to pick the wrong name from a special book, as we were sitting behind her we...

Matt’s show was entertaining.

Lots of audience participation which made for a laugh.

On the night there were a few ‘mishaps’ unfortunately for him.

One audience member, during a memory trick, decided to pick the wrong name from a special book, as we were sitting behind her we saw how the trick was supposed to play out, but our lips are sealed.

The colouring of the poster was another mishap, but passing it off as an improper mistake turning into a comedy of errors shows Matt as the professional showman he projects.

A night of light entertainment was enjoyable as I love magic and illusion.

Please go and see him in this intimate surrounding.

4 gold stars Matt.

Read more

Summary

Return to Reviews

MATT TARRANT: UNSOLVED

28 Nov-1 Dec 2019

Visy Theatre Brisbane Powerhouse, New Farm

Expect to be fooled, charmed and amazed by the world’s best magic, mentalism and storytelling.

Sold out over the last six years, Matt Tarrant returns to Brisbane with a brand new show, after winning the Pick of the Adelaide Fringe award earlier this year.