/* Rate It icons */ /* Emojis */

Summary

21 - 23 Nov 2019

Visy Theatre Brisbane Powerhouse, New Farm

Brisbane’s premiere burlesque crew returns to Wonderland Festival following multiple sold-out seasons, with a fabulous troop of internationally recognised performers.

Whether you’re a burlesque virgin or veteran, Vanguard delivers a night of quirky offbeat glamour and seduction.

 

BOOK TICKETS

Reviews

22 Nov 2019

You will not be disappointed

Burlesque is my favourite genre of dance.

Ruby Slippers absolutely blew my socks off.

I love the energy and the skills that these performers exuded, so much so that I would see the show again given the opportunity.

I found the lighting was a bit patchy and the music needed to be louder but it was amazing!

Simone Healy
veteran
21 Nov 2019

A salaciously entertaining evening of grandeur and camp that will leave you desperate for more

As something of a burlesque virgin, my experience with performances such as those featured in the dazzling Vanguard Burlesque has rarely extended beyond the confines of crowded queer bars dotted throughout Brisbane.

It was interesting then, to witness the cast of “Brisbane’s premier burlesque and variety event” perform in a space large enough to fit their overflowing charisma and allow them to dominate the audience’s attention with an hour of entrancing acts.

All of Vanguard’s talented and internationally celebrated stars put on…

As something of a burlesque virgin, my experience with performances such as those featured in the dazzling Vanguard Burlesque has rarely extended beyond the confines of crowded queer bars dotted throughout Brisbane.

It was interesting then, to witness the cast of “Brisbane’s premier burlesque and variety event” perform in a space large enough to fit their overflowing charisma and allow them to dominate the audience’s attention with an hour of entrancing acts.

All of Vanguard’s talented and internationally celebrated stars put on brilliant performances that celebrated the titillating history of burlesque.

But it was Queens Ball Performer of the Year legend Kryptonite, ‘Drag Disrupter’ Ruby Slippers, and special guest and Las Vegas Burlesque Hall of Famer Lila Luxx, who stole the show with astounding and innovative numbers that had the audience screaming.

Although a fabulous and rowdy night, I couldn’t help but feel the slightest tinge of dislocation.

Longing to grab a drink between numbers or move about during the show, the large – and meagrely occupied – space of the Visy Theatre detracted somewhat from the intimacy between performer and audience that feels so palpable in more close-knit venues.

This is not to suggest the performers lacked such engagement, rather the constraints of the venue prevented you from fully losing yourself in the debauchery playing out.

Despite this sense of displacement, Vanguard Burlesque is a salaciously entertaining evening of grandeur and camp that will have you desperate for more.

Read more
Alex Komarowski
virgin
21 Nov 2019

Oh how YUMMY! A tantalising display of raunchiness and tasteful seduction

A taste of some of the best local talent in the burlesque scene; audiences new and those who are veterans are sure to be absolutely delighted.

Filled with hints of glamour, bizarre, queer and quirk, every performer brought something new to the plate.

A drag queen as a host?!

How could you not?!

I quite enjoyed this burlesque rendezvous!

The evening went along with alternating performers from a troupe of talent, each their own style and personality.

Standouts include the solo male act of the evening,…

A taste of some of the best local talent in the burlesque scene; audiences new and those who are veterans are sure to be absolutely delighted.

Filled with hints of glamour, bizarre, queer and quirk, every performer brought something new to the plate.

A drag queen as a host?!

How could you not?!

I quite enjoyed this burlesque rendezvous!

The evening went along with alternating performers from a troupe of talent, each their own style and personality.

Standouts include the solo male act of the evening, a true Brisbane legend, Kryptonite.

A familiar face, he absolutely nailed it with his stage presence and costuming.

A showgirl in demand, Lila Luxx oozed seduction and lust.

From the heels, to the feathers, to the makeup, to the sheer talent she brought.

It’s like she demanded your heart and broke it into pieces (you can tell I’m a fan).

Special mention to Lillian Lace the mastermind behind the evening.

Who knew Mother Nature wore nipple tassels under her leaves??

I can’t fault the show, I wanted MORE.

If you love nipple tassels (even on bums), sequins, feathers, a giggle, to be seduced and delighted..... SEE THIS!

Read more
Zali Fox
virgin
21 Nov 2019

Vanguard Burlesque opens Wonderland Festival with a bang

Vanguard Burlesque is no shy newcomer to the Brisbane drag and burlesque scenes.

Fronted during its Wonderland Festival run by local drag royalty, Vollie LaVont, and featuring the likes of Betty Lovecat, Ruby Slippers, and Kryptonite, this troupe really do live up to their forward-looking name. F

rom the sultry stylings of Rielle La’Vish and special guest Lila Luxx, to the comedy leanings of Betty Lovecat and the Lucille Ball-esque Maple Rose, Vanguard treated the audience to burlesque in all its forms,…

Vanguard Burlesque is no shy newcomer to the Brisbane drag and burlesque scenes.

Fronted during its Wonderland Festival run by local drag royalty, Vollie LaVont, and featuring the likes of Betty Lovecat, Ruby Slippers, and Kryptonite, this troupe really do live up to their forward-looking name. F

rom the sultry stylings of Rielle La’Vish and special guest Lila Luxx, to the comedy leanings of Betty Lovecat and the Lucille Ball-esque Maple Rose, Vanguard treated the audience to burlesque in all its forms, including Hall of Fame legend Kryptonite representing the finest in boy-lesque.

While I wouldn’t say that a burlesque show is only as good as its audience (the talent on show here is evidence enough to lay that one to rest), a quiet crowd did make for a slightly shaky start.

Perhaps a little education is needed - if the performer looks like they’re even slightly ready to take off an item of clothing, make some bloody noise!

With burlesque legend Dita Von Teese taking to the Brisbane stage this weekend, it’s wonderful to see Australian talent flexing its own muscles.

And while Vanguard Burlesque is happy to nod to the traditions of the art form, it's at its strongest blazing its own path, and showcasing artists who offer something a little different.

Just watch a Ruby Slippers performance - you’ll soon see what I mean!

Quirky and exciting, but always glamorous, Vanguard Burlesque has just a couple of late-night slots remaining during their Wonderland residency.

Grab a ticket and a glass of bubbles - you’d be mad to miss this!

Read more
Jodie Sloan
veteran
21 Nov 2019

The most entertaining, amazing show I have seen in a long time!!

As a burlesque virgin I wasn't quite sure what I was getting myself into but as soon as the lights turned off that the music started I knew I was in for a treat!

Every single performer was incredible and I could feel their energy radiating the whole performance.

The lighting and costumes were incredible and every act left me wanting more.

Both me and my friend who attended didn't want the show to end.

If you were like myself and had never seen…

As a burlesque virgin I wasn't quite sure what I was getting myself into but as soon as the lights turned off that the music started I knew I was in for a treat!

Every single performer was incredible and I could feel their energy radiating the whole performance.

The lighting and costumes were incredible and every act left me wanting more.

Both me and my friend who attended didn't want the show to end.

If you were like myself and had never seen a burlesque performance before you definitely should!

I could not recommend this show enough to everyone!

Read more
Breanna Fenton
virgin
21 Nov 2019

Dazzling costumes, beautiful bodies, twirling titty tassels.

The show was mad (in a very, very good way).

Some of the shoes worn I would love to steal and the costumes were dazzling even if they didn't stay on very long.

This hard-working troupe of performers were excellent in their routines, very polished and professional and hopefully will go on to bigger and better venues and success.

It was extremely entertaining and had the audience singing along with the great selection of songs.

Beautiful people with beautiful bodies who absolutely relished being…

The show was mad (in a very, very good way).

Some of the shoes worn I would love to steal and the costumes were dazzling even if they didn't stay on very long.

This hard-working troupe of performers were excellent in their routines, very polished and professional and hopefully will go on to bigger and better venues and success.

It was extremely entertaining and had the audience singing along with the great selection of songs.

Beautiful people with beautiful bodies who absolutely relished being on stage and giving it their all.

I could have watched another hour of this burlesque magic.

5 golden stars.

Read more
Robyn Fox
virgin
21 Nov 2019

An exciting performance with plenty of fun, fur, feathers and frivolity.

As soon as I saw Vollie LaVont was hosting this night I knew it was going to be a great show.

The highlights were definitely Ruby Shoes, Kryptonite and Maple Rose.

Ruby was outrageously funny with her crazy outfits and antics really exciting the audience.

Kryptonite was funny and witty and some of the biggest costumes and highest heels of the night.

Maple Rose really showed the true old-school burlesque style with feathers and great songs along with her high energy and cheekiness really…

As soon as I saw Vollie LaVont was hosting this night I knew it was going to be a great show.

The highlights were definitely Ruby Shoes, Kryptonite and Maple Rose.

Ruby was outrageously funny with her crazy outfits and antics really exciting the audience.

Kryptonite was funny and witty and some of the biggest costumes and highest heels of the night.

Maple Rose really showed the true old-school burlesque style with feathers and great songs along with her high energy and cheekiness really gave the crowd something to cheer at.

Overall a great night and would recommend for anyone to see if you’re up for a bit of light entertainment.

Read more
Robert King
veteran
id in luctus amet, efficitur. Donec adipiscing tempus ipsum vulputate, nec